Reports – ready to read

findings and analysis of our visits and research

Healthwatch Lambeth Annual Review 2015-2016
Introduction

Looking at care from the perspective of patients, service users and their families. 2015/16 has been a successful year for Healthwatch Lambeth, with many of our projects generating new knowledge and better collaboration between providers, commissioners and local people. This has led us to making an important contribution to shaping local, person-centred care through our engagement programmes with older people, adults with learning disabilities, people with poor mental health and younger people. During the year, Healthwatch Trustees, staff and volunteers worked together to frame a new strategic plan for 2016–18. We decided to focus on the overall health and social care experiences of Lambeth residents, not on the separate services they use at different times in their lives.


Healthwatch Lambeth AGM presentation – Sep 2015
Introduction

Annual General Meeting

Healthwatch Lambeth Annual Review 2014/15 – Sep 2015
Introduction

2014/15 has been a positive and insightful year for Lambeth Healthwatch. Positive because our reviews of dementia services, extra care services and healthy living pharmacies have led to plans to combat social isolation and improve health services for adults with learning disabilities. Insightful because Lambeth residents have taught us that the word “kind” is used to describe good quality care. Our power to “Enter and View” publicly funded adult health and social care services has been key in capturing this information. Our review of dementia services in the Clapham Park area involved training volunteers to “Enter and View” two care homes and two extra care housing facilities. Residents told us that they felt settled and safe and treated kindly within their home, however this security caused many to become socially isolated. Some residents simply wanted someone to chat to, be supported to go outside and get some fresh air, visit the shops and choose their own food.

Healthwatch Lambeth Annual Report 2013/2014 mini version – Sep 2014
Introduction

Welcome to our first mini Annual Report, telling you who we are, what we do and how you can get involved. We’re an independent charity championing people in Lambeth, making sure you, your family and friends, get the best health and social care possible. Whatever your age, ethnicity, disability or wherever you live in Lambeth, we’re here to make sure services treat you with dignity and respect. We are here for anyone who lives, works or uses health and social care services in the borough.

Mosaic Clubhouse – May 2016
Introduction

Mosaic Clubhouse is part of a worldwide network of clubhouses that provide support and opportunities to people living with a mental health condition. Through work and targeted support within a community setting, the clubhouse model aims to support its members to achieve their recovery goals. Eligibility for membership requires a diagnosis of a mental illness, which once conferred, is valid for life. See the ‘About Mosaic Clubhouse’ section below for further details on the services provided.

Older Persons Unit St Thomas’ Hospital – Dec 2015
Introduction

We chose to visit wards in St Thomas’ Older Persons Unit as part of our work stream assessing services for older people. We aimed to gather older people’s views of being in hospital and to talk to patients about their perceptions of the discharge process. Patients we spoke to were also invited to participate in the pilot phase of our new ‘Going Home’ project to track patients’ experiences of hospital discharge and the ensuing transfer of care process. Findings from the visit also informed the broader scoping of our work programme for older people.

Dulwich Care Centre – Sept 2015
Introduction

Dulwich Care Centre was rated inadequate by the Care Quality Commission (CQC)1 in November 2014. The rating echoed similar findings by Lambeth Council’s Care and Contract Management team around the same time. Healthwatch Lambeth had also received two anonymous complaints about the quality of care and staffing levels at the Centre in the preceding six months. Following the CQC rating, the provider brought in a new interim management team to turn the service around. Healthwatch Lambeth attended a series of meetings in January held by the Centre for relatives. From what we heard from family and friends at the meetings, we were concerned by: • The prolonged period of poor quality care delivered to residents • The low number of formal complaints received by the Centre compared with the high volume of concerns we heard from friends and family.

Pharmacy Visits Pilot Report – June 2015
Introduction

Between January and March 2015 we visited 6 Healthy Living Pharmacies in Lambeth. We arranged with the pharmacies when to visit them. We agreed not to tell people which pharmacies we visited. There were 2 pharmacies from each of the 3 health areas in Lambeth (North, middle and South).


Helmi House extra care housing – Feb 2015
Introduction

Extra care housing facility for 46 tenants, currently proving care and support to 26 people of mixed ages including wheelchair users and two residents living with dementia. Another 20 older tenants have been relocated to the scheme on a medium-term basis from sheltered accommodation in South Norwood which is being redeveloped. These tenants do not receive care services. The facility provides 41 one-bed and five two-bedroom flats and has a guest studio flat for visitors.

Lingham Court extra care housing – Feb 2015
Introduction

Extra care housing facility for 30 tenants, proving care and support to older people including wheelchair users and five residents living with dementia. The facility provides 27 one-bed and three two- bedroom flats.

Hillyard House extra care housing – Jan 2015
Introduction

Extra care housing facility for 41 tenants providing care and support to a mixed clientele including older people, learning disabled adult and younger disabled people, and residents living with dementia. The shared spaces are non-smoking, although residents can smoke in their flats. Pets are not allowed. There are two guest rooms.

44 Clarence Avenue extra care housing – July 2014
Introduction

Extra Care Housing Scheme for up to 51 people plus one guest flat, owned by Metropolitan Housing Trust. All but three tenants have domiciliary care packages provided by Sanctuary. The site also accommodates a separate day centre managed by Lambeth Council, which some tenants use. The day centre and scheme share the chef and dining room. During the visit six tenants bought lunch downstairs.

Collingwood Court care home – June 2014
Introduction

The home comprises three units including one for low support needs, a unit for people with mental health problems and a palliative care unit. Almost all the residents have dementia or dementia like symptoms. It is home to 66 people, including some people who do not speak English, most of whom are funded by the Local Authority. The other residents are funded by the NHS under Continuing Care.

Alver Bank care home – May 2014
Introduction

Care home for up to 27 people providing care and support to people with dementia. The service is non-smoking and does not include nursing but does support people with personal care needs.

Charleston House extra care housing – April 2014
Introduction

Extra care home for 28 residents in single units for people with conditions such as dementia, Parkinson’s Disease and Diabetes, people who have had a stroke, and amputees.

Read our Mental Health Reports

Review of dementia services for people living independently and family carers – Jan 2016
Introduction

Following a review of dementia services for people living in care homes and extra care schemes (with 24 hour on call support) in the Clapham Park area in 20141, Healthwatch Lambeth carried out a follow up investigation in summer/autumn 2015 to gather views on services for people living with dementia independently in their own homes.


Finding mental health advice and support in Vassall – Dec 2015
Introduction

The Lambeth Black Health and Wellbeing Commission, established in 2013, led a borough-wide collaborative effort to find ways to improve the prevention and treatment of mental health conditions for Lambeth’s African and Black Caribbean residents. It followed the death of Sean Rigg, a local musician and mental health service-user who died in police custody in 2008, which sparked wider debate about the inequality experienced by black communities in our local mental health system. The Commission’s final report (Lambeth Council, 2014) contained 40 recommendations categorised across three priority themes: improving prevention, access to appropriate services and patient experience. The report emphasised the need to improve access to support for those who need it at the earliest possible stage. But also highlighted feedback from residents through the Commission-led public engagement events that there was a lack of information about what mental health services and support were available (Lambeth Council 2014:35). Concerns were also raised around information-sharing methods, particularly an overreliance on the use of the internet. Noting that a lack of information is a barrier to access, Healthwatch Lambeth decided to explore current understanding amongst residents of how they would seek advice, information or support for a mental health concern.


Summary of feedback on SLaM services for Care Quality Commission inspection – Aug 2015
Introduction

Healthwatch Lambeth, Lewisham and Southwark contributed to the Care Quality Commission (CQC) inspector information pack prior to their inspection of South London and Maudsley (SLaM) NHS Trust in the week beginning 21st September 2015. This document summarises the contribution, which was based on quality issues raised by patients and families relating to SLaM services between August 2014 and August 2015.


Healthwatch Lambeth Review of Dementia Services Clapham Park SW4 – Mar 2015
Introduction

Healthwatch Lambeth undertook a review of dementia services in the Clapham Park area of Lambeth during the second half of 2014. With the number of people with dementia set to double in the UK over the next 30 years, we were keen to:

  • Gain an insight into the experiences of local residents with dementia and their carers (both paid and unpaid)
  • Explore how well different local health and care services worked together to support people with dementia, their families and carers.

Our review combined Enter and View visits to two care homes and two extra care schemes, discussions with carers and interviews with a range of local health and care providers for people with dementia. Our overall impression from our Enter and View visits is of residential services that provide good basic care but are not always able to work in ways to enhance the lives of the people they care for, particularly in terms of collaboration between different on-site providers to deliver joined up person-centred services and supporting social interaction amongst residents. While the facilities were safe and accessible, we found limited evidence of friendships, activities or opportunities for residents to make personal choices.


Read our Enter and View Reports on Mental Health Care

Mosaic Clubhouse – May 2016
Introduction

Mosaic Clubhouse is part of a worldwide network of clubhouses that provide support and opportunities to people living with a mental health condition. Through work and targeted support within a community setting, the clubhouse model aims to support its members to achieve their recovery goals. Eligibility for membership requires a diagnosis of a mental illness, which once conferred, is valid for life. See the ‘About Mosaic Clubhouse’ section below for further details on the services provided.

Older Persons Unit St Thomas’ Hospital – Dec 2015
Introduction

We chose to visit wards in St Thomas’ Older Persons Unit as part of our work stream assessing services for older people. We aimed to gather older people’s views of being in hospital and to talk to patients about their perceptions of the discharge process. Patients we spoke to were also invited to participate in the pilot phase of our new ‘Going Home’ project to track patients’ experiences of hospital discharge and the ensuing transfer of care process. Findings from the visit also informed the broader scoping of our work programme for older people.

Read our Primary Care Reports

Healthwatch Lambeth and King’s College London Lambeth DataNet Engagement Project Report – Oct 2015
Introduction

The purpose of this project was to establish and evaluate a method of promoting transparency in how patient data is being used in Lambeth to improve services. The project was funded by Lambeth DataNet (LDN) and conducted by Healthwatch Lambeth and Patient and Public Involvement and Engagement staff from the NIHR Biomedical Research Centre (BRC) at Guy’s and St Thomas’ Foundation Trust and King’s College London (KCL). Aim This project aimed to engage with people registered with general practices in Lambeth to:

  1. inform them about LDN, the BRC and health research and opportunities for involvement
  2. inform them about how routine data can be used for research and quality improvement
  3. listen to concerns about research in general and data sharing in particular
  4. identify strategies to address concerns
  5. promote opportunities for engagement in research in LDN and the BRC processes
  6. develop novel methods of utilising LDN data for local health improvement.


Healthwatch Lambeth AGM presentation – Sep 2015
Introduction

Annual General Meeting


Happy with your GP services? Report from Trustee Seminar on primary care services – Aug 2015
Introduction

Healthwatch Lambeth Trustees held a seminar on transforming primary care services (dental, GPs and community pharmacists) on June 10, 2015. The seminar took place from 6pm-8pm at the Norwood Health and Leisure Centre. Around 50 people including Lambeth residents, Healthwatch Lambeth Trustees, Patient Participation Groups, GPs, pharmacists, NHS Lambeth Clinical Commissioning Group and Lambeth Councillors attended the seminar. It was opened by Knights Hill Ward Councillor Jane Pickard and closed by Lambeth Council Cabinet Member for Health and Wellbeing, Councillor Jim Dickson. The seminar also gave those attending an opportunity to meet Healthwatch Lambeth Trustees, who were there to listen to Lambeth residents views.


Feedback from Healthwatch Lambeth and King's College Hospital public meeting on service change – Jan 2015
Introduction

Healthwatch Meeting re Service Change – 14th November 2014


Health and Wellbeing Board Presentation on loneliness and social isolation – Jan 2015
Introduction

  1. The quality and quantity of social relationships has been linked to mental wellbeing, ill health and premature death. Social relationships are therefore determinants of health that can result in health inequalities.
  2. Good social relationships are as beneficial to health as quitting smoking and resilient communities do better in the face of adversity and austerity.
  3. People on lower incomes are more likely to be affected by low levels of social participation.


GP survey report – Oct 2014
Introduction

NHS England London’s publication: “A Call to Action – Transforming primary care in London”, states that: Health and care services provided by GPs and practice nurses are the cornerstone of the NHS – 90% of patient contact with the NHS takes place in general practice. GPs don’t just provide care themselves, they also help their patients to navigate the system and access the care they need in other settings. GPs represent a single coordinator of care for people from birth through to the end of their life. In presenting the case for change, the document states that:

  1. London faces a significant financial challenge.
  2. Patients in London find access to GPs more challenging than in the rest of England.
  3. Across the country, there are significant unexplained variations between practices for key aspects of diagnosis and treatment. London practices face greater challenges than most in delivering high measures of quality and experience.
  4. Stark health inequalities exist across London. Many London boroughs fall below the English average on key preventative measures.
  5. Most practices in London remain relatively small, and could benefit from shared economies of scale.


Healthwatch Lambeth Annual Report 2013/2014 mini version – Sep 2014
Introduction

Welcome to our first mini Annual Report, telling you who we are, what we do and how you can get involved. We’re an independent charity championing people in Lambeth, making sure you, your family and friends, get the best health and social care possible. Whatever your age, ethnicity, disability or wherever you live in Lambeth, we’re here to make sure services treat you with dignity and respect. We are here for anyone who lives, works or uses health and social care services in the borough.


The Big Lambeth Health Debate: feedback and next steps from public meeting – Sep 2014
Introduction

Healthwatch Lambeth champions patients, social care users and their families and carers so that they can influence all aspects of health and social care provision. Patient stories bring unique insights to service planning, helping commissioners and providers ensure that services meet both the needs of individuals and contribute to the broader objectives for local clinical commissioning identified through the Lambeth Big Health Debate in 2013: to provide people centred, prevention focused, integrated, consistent, innovative care that is also value for money. This year, Healthwatch Lambeth Trustees have launched a programme of quarterly public meetings addressing issues of strategic concern. These meetings provide opportunities for residents to work with Healthwatch, elected councillors, local commissioners and providers including the voluntary sector and other partners to find solutions to common problems. Collaborating with Lambeth CCG, the Patient Participation Group Network and patients to deliver this workshop on ‘Transforming Primary Care’ has been an exciting way to launch the programme. Our publicity asked ‘How can we transform GP services to improve health and quality and reduce inequalities and meet the challenge of an aging population, a rise in long term conditions and tighter budgets?’ This report documents the range and scale of ideas that we generated. Healthwatch will continue to gather local people’s experiences of primary care. We will also ensure that people who find it harder to engage with public consultations, especially people with caring responsibilities, learning disabilities, sensory impairment and other disabilities have opportunities to influence the new primary care structures as they emerge. We look forward to co-producing a shared vision for primary care for the future with all our partners.


Lambeth Patient Participation Group Directory – July 2014
Introduction

Healthwatch Lambeth has been asked by the Lambeth Patient Participation Group Network (LPPGN) to carry out a mapping exercise on the status of practice based Patient Participation Groups (PPGs) in Lambeth. This mapping exercise is financially supported by Lambeth Clinical Commissioning Group. Survey On 4 July 2014, a questionnaire was set up using survey monkey and was sent out to all 48 General Practices in Lambeth via email. Deadline for completion was 18 July 2014 but this was extended to allow more practices to take part. By the final closing date of 11th August 38 practices had fully completed the questionnaire. Another 4 practices have completed the first page of the survey but have yet to complete the rest of the questions on PPGs. The information contained in this directory is based on the information provided by the 38 practices in their response to the questionnaire. All practices have had the opportunity to suggest any amendments to ensure the Directory is as up to date and accurate as possible. The information contained in the directory is purely descriptive. It shows how different PPGs are structured and organised; the ways they communicate with patients; some of the activities and events they are engaged in; their links with other groups; the issues they have raised with the practice and those where changes have resulted.


Lambeth Patient Participation Group Mapping Survey Report – July 2014
Introduction

Healthwatch Lambeth has been asked by the PPG Network to carry out a mapping exercise on the status of PPGs in Lambeth. On 4 July 2014, a questionnaire was set up using survey monkey and was sent out to all 48 practices in Lambeth via email. Deadline for completion was 18 July 2014. Up to 11 August 2014, 38 practices had fully completed the questionnaire. Another four practices have completed the first page of the survey but have yet to complete the rest of the questions on PPG, these 4 practices have not been included in this report.


Healthwatch Lambeth and Thomas Pocklington Report on services for people with visual impairment – June 2014
Introduction

This report has been compiled to record the views of people with sight loss living in the Borough of Lambeth on services that provide treatment, support and enable independence. The data used to inform the report includes a paper based service user consultation questionnaire and two consultation events held on the same day.


Read our Enter and View Reports on Primary Care
Pharmacy Visits Pilot Report – June 2015
Introduction

Between January and March 2015 we visited 6 Healthy Living Pharmacies in Lambeth. We arranged with the pharmacies when to visit them. We agreed not to tell people which pharmacies we visited. There were 2 pharmacies from each of the 3 health areas in Lambeth (North, middle and South).


Read our Older People's Reports

Review of Extra Care Services – July 2015
Introduction

Extra care housing is designed to support people who can manage independently with care and support. Self-contained flats with 24 hour on-site support are intended to offer an ideal environment to maintain confidence and independence. Care services are provided by staff in line with individual care plans. However, the facility is not a care home, as residents are tenants with associated rights, whereas residents in care homes do not have tenancies. The care provided is regulated by the Care Quality Commission (CQC) but the facility itself is not inspected, and residents can choose to make their own care arrangements.


Read our Enter and View Reports on Older People's Care
Older Persons Unit St Thomas’ Hospital – Dec 2015
Introduction

We chose to visit wards in St Thomas’ Older Persons Unit as part of our work stream assessing services for older people. We aimed to gather older people’s views of being in hospital and to talk to patients about their perceptions of the discharge process. Patients we spoke to were also invited to participate in the pilot phase of our new ‘Going Home’ project to track patients’ experiences of hospital discharge and the ensuing transfer of care process. Findings from the visit also informed the broader scoping of our work programme for older people.

Dulwich Care Centre – Sept 2015
Introduction

Dulwich Care Centre was rated inadequate by the Care Quality Commission (CQC)1 in November 2014. The rating echoed similar findings by Lambeth Council’s Care and Contract Management team around the same time. Healthwatch Lambeth had also received two anonymous complaints about the quality of care and staffing levels at the Centre in the preceding six months. Following the CQC rating, the provider brought in a new interim management team to turn the service around. Healthwatch Lambeth attended a series of meetings in January held by the Centre for relatives. From what we heard from family and friends at the meetings, we were concerned by: • The prolonged period of poor quality care delivered to residents • The low number of formal complaints received by the Centre compared with the high volume of concerns we heard from friends and family.

Helmi House extra care housing – Feb 2015
Introduction

Extra care housing facility for 46 tenants, currently proving care and support to 26 people of mixed ages including wheelchair users and two residents living with dementia. Another 20 older tenants have been relocated to the scheme on a medium-term basis from sheltered accommodation in South Norwood which is being redeveloped. These tenants do not receive care services. The facility provides 41 one-bed and five two-bedroom flats and has a guest studio flat for visitors.

Lingham Court extra care housing – Feb 2015
Introduction

Extra care housing facility for 30 tenants, proving care and support to older people including wheelchair users and five residents living with dementia. The facility provides 27 one-bed and three two- bedroom flats.

Hillyard House extra care housing – Jan 2015
Introduction

Extra care housing facility for 41 tenants providing care and support to a mixed clientele including older people, learning disabled adult and younger disabled people, and residents living with dementia. The shared spaces are non-smoking, although residents can smoke in their flats. Pets are not allowed. There are two guest rooms.

44 Clarence Avenue extra care housing – July 2014
Introduction

Extra Care Housing Scheme for up to 51 people plus one guest flat, owned by Metropolitan Housing Trust. All but three tenants have domiciliary care packages provided by Sanctuary. The site also accommodates a separate day centre managed by Lambeth Council, which some tenants use. The day centre and scheme share the chef and dining room. During the visit six tenants bought lunch downstairs.

Collingwood Court care home – June 2014
Introduction

The home comprises three units including one for low support needs, a unit for people with mental health problems and a palliative care unit. Almost all the residents have dementia or dementia like symptoms. It is home to 66 people, including some people who do not speak English, most of whom are funded by the Local Authority. The other residents are funded by the NHS under Continuing Care.

Alver Bank care home – May 2014
Introduction

Care home for up to 27 people providing care and support to people with dementia. The service is non-smoking and does not include nursing but does support people with personal care needs.

Charleston House extra care housing – April 2014
Introduction

Extra care home for 28 residents in single units for people with conditions such as dementia, Parkinson’s Disease and Diabetes, people who have had a stroke, and amputees.

Healthwatch Lambeth and Brook Young Peoples Project – Jan 2016
Introduction

In early 2015, Healthwatch Lambeth identified young people as a target group that we had yet to be fully engaged with. Building on an existing relationship and previous health-related youth empowerment work led by Brook – a national sexual health charity, Healthwatch Lambeth entered into a partnership to deliver a 6 month project that aimed to listen to the health and social care needs and experiences of young people living in Lambeth.


Focus group report with women who have experienced violence and/or the criminal justice system – Sep 2014
Introduction

Healthwatch Lambeth is the independent health and social care champion for local people. We work to ensure your voice counts when it comes to shaping and improving services. We address inequalities in health and care, to help ensure everyone gets the services they need. We are a charity and membership body for Lambeth residents and voluntary organisations. The Beth Centre is a partnership between Women in Prison (WIP), and Eaves Housing for Women (Eaves). It provides Lambeth women who are either at risk of, or affected by, the criminal justice system, with a holistic set of support services from a safe, women-only centre in the borough. Eaves provides frontline support, advocacy and campaigning in the areas of trafficking, prostitution exiting, and sexual violence. Eaves also offers housing and employment services.


Accessibility
Accessibility